Tiny House - Big Science - Innovations in Building Technology

Annual Symposium of the Rocky Mountain Chapter

Symposium: Thursday, September 21, 2017

Westminster DoubleTree Hotel, Westminster, CO


Short Courses September 20 – 22

Vendor Exhibit/Poster Session Thursday, September 21

Symposium registration fee: free!

Invited Speakers:

Lucy Davis, Mines Tiny House  Building an off-grid PV Tiny House

Enrico Bonilauri, Emu Systems –  Design and the human side of building physics: from physiological needs to climate-responsive solutions

Diana Fisler, Johns Manville – Insulation and Building Science

Paulo Tabares-Velasco, Colorado School of Mines – Modeling and optimization of phase change and smart materials in the building envelope

Steven Semancik, NIST Gaitherburg – Microdevices for Surface based sensing of Chemicals and Biomaterials

Rois Langner, National Renewable Energy Laboratory – Optimizing Building Performance for Energy Efficiency

Jason Woods,National Renewable Energy Laboratory Managing Moisture in Low Load Homes

Xiaobo Yin, University of Colorado Boulder – Amorphous Metamaterials For Large Scale Deployment Of Effective Day-time Radiative Cooling

J.R. Gaines, Kurt J. LeskerFundamentals of Vacuum Science

Thank you to our 2017 Sponsors!

Student Poster Deadline September 18, 2017

The Rocky Mountain Chapter – AVS announces the call for poster abstracts for the Symposium to be held on Thursday, September 21, 2017 at the Doubletree Hotel, 8773 Yates Drive, Westminster, CO (PDF link here)
Areas of interest for posters include surface science, oxidation and corrosion, catalysis, thin films, adhesion, ceramics, electronic materials, optical coatings, vacuum metallurgy, plasma and fusion technologies, nanometer structures, space vacuum environments, energy technologies, environmental monitoring, flexible coatings, roll-to-roll vacuum, and other areas of vacuum-related science and technology.
The poster session is open to any student with appropriate material that they wish to present. To encourage participation we award cash prizes to the top three student posters. The prizes are $500 for first place, $300 for second place, and $200 for third place. Posters will be judged on their technical merit and the presentation of results.  Contact us about student memberships!
Abstracts should be a Word document, single-spaced with 12 pt font, and less than one page in length.   Template will be available soon.

Organizing and Program Committees

  • Chair, RMAVS Symposium: Svitlana Pylypenko (CSM)
  • Secretary: Tim Ohno, (CSM)
  • Vendor Exhibit: Mike Simmons (INTELLIVATION LLC)
  • Short Course Coordinators: Neil Peacock, Tim Gessert
  • Treasurer: Rosine Ribelin (Ascent Solar)
  • Local Arrangements: J. Grant Armstrong, Lorelle Mansfield (NREL), and Svitlana Pylypenko (CSM)
  • Student Poster Co-ordinator: James Burst (Ball Aerospace)