The Rocky Mountain Chapter of AVS covers Colorado, Wyoming, Idaho, Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana, and Utah. Our chapter is comprised of members who come from academia, national laboratories and industry.

Present Officers

Chair: Mike Simmons, Intellivation LLC

Chair Elect: Andrew Cavanagh, University of Colorado

Past Chair: Svitlana Pylypenko, Colorado School of Mines

Secretary: Tim Ohno, Colorado School of Mines

Treasurer: Rosine Ribelin, Ascent Solar


Executive Committee Members

Grant Armstrong, Carberry Technologies (ret.)

James Burst, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Andrew S. Cavanagh, University of Colorado Boulder

David Diercks, Colorado School of Mines

Steven Decaluwe, Colorado School of Mines

Tim Gessert, University of Illinois

Steve Harvey, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Neil Peacock

Craig Perkins, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Glenn Teeter, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Jing Zhou, University of Wyoming

Our Annual Activities

Each year our chapter has an active vendor show, symposium, and short course program in September. We participate in educational outreach through the Colorado Association of Science Teachers (CAST) to provide monetary awards to outstanding physical science teachers at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. The Chapter sponsors one teacher each year to attend the Science Educators Workshop at the International AVS Symposium.

We are always interested in expanding our membership and finding candidates who would like to be more involved. If you are interested in serving in a chapter leadership position or participating in one or more of our activities please contact us.


Get in Touch

14 + 14 =